November 26, 2008

Corey Crowder: Gold and The Sand

Singer-songwriter Corey Crowder gained some notoriety through MySpace, with his two self-released albums picking up considerable sales. He has got a record deal now for his third album Gold and The Sand. Can he live up to the expectations? No. You get some some borderline Chris Rea (Innocence), a bit of Springsteen harmonica playing (Helpless Heart) and his lyrics are all about "I", "You" and "We".

This is the kind of music you are likely to hear at the birthday of an unhip acquaintance. That didn't stop EMI from hiring him as a staff songwriter. The market for harmless fluff is big enough to pay him a decent wage.

Corey Crowder: Gold and The Sand

Gold and The Sand is released on Tooth & Nail.

  1. Southern Way
  2. Love
  3. Look How Far We've Come
  4. Higher Ground
  5. Leaving You
  6. Helpless Heart
  7. Innocence
  8. Changes
  9. Devils
  10. Slow Down
  11. I've Become Something
  12. Lonesome Road


No comments:

Post a Comment