October 27, 2008

Sheryl Crow: Live

Sheryl Crow took the stage on June 8, 2004 in Chicago for what was later aired by PBS as a one hour performance in the long running Soundstage series. Although the show is now released as a stereo/5.1 HD picture DVD it's no wonder why this show has been gathering dust on the shelves for so long. Nothing wrong with her vocal chords or guitar playing, especially when she switches to electric, but the performance never catches fire. She might as well been playing in a Wal-Mart or Caesar's Palace.

All her hits are on it, as well as a few covers. Nick Lowe's classic (What’s So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding is a failure. Miss Crow look either bored when she sings it or she is frowing because she has in serious trouble trying to remember the lyrics. Cat Stevens' The First Cut Is the Deepest is even worse. No heartache in sight, but it will surely hurt your ears. The whole show is on cruise control, so feel free to doze off and have a nice power nap.

Sheryl Crow: Live

Sheryl Crow: Live is released as part of the on Soundstage series.

  1. My Favorite Mistake
  2. You're An Original
  3. The First Cut Is The Deepest
  4. Leaving Las Vegas
  5. Strong Enough
  6. Redemption Day
  7. Sweet Rosalyn
  8. If It Makes You Happy
  9. Home
  10. All I Wanna Do
  11. Soak Up The Sun
  12. Everyday Is A Winding Road
  13. (What’s So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding
  14. Let’s Get Free
  15. Safe and Sound
  16. I Shall Believe
  17. Steve McQueen

» sherylcrow.com

No comments:

Post a Comment