September 26, 2008

Banderas: Beast Sounds and Parlour Tricks

Banderas (c) Ryan Thomas
photo: Ryan Thomas

Cincinatti quintet Banderas describes themselves as a dirty band and there is a lot of truth in that. This is a band with low slung guitars, throaty vocals, and in-your-face drums. They sound like an expanded version of the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, with the MC5 and the Stooges lurking in the background. Their album Beast Sounds and Parlour Tricks is the kind of music you hope to hear coming out of the speakers of a battered radio on a construction site.

Jeremy Constantinople: vocals, guitar
Jesse James Ramsey: guitar
Cu Silvio: guitar
T.R. McHenry: keyboards, guitar
Donkey: drums

Banderas: Beast Sounds and Parlour Tricks

Beast Sounds and Parlour Tricks is a self-released album. Buy it here.

  1. Alligators in the Palisades
  2. Click. Crash. Boom.
  3. Disgraceland
  4. Cosmic Boss
  5. We Got the Night
  6. Rocket
  7. The Legend of the Suicide Kid
  8. $50 Pyramid Scheme
  9. Ground Out Heel
  10. La Zona
  11. Mandragoria
  12. That Full Moon Feeling
Live dates:
  • 10/29 The Mad Hatter( w/ The Dwarves), Covington, KY
  • 10/31 Banderas' Halloween Hootenanny @ SGH, Newport, KY


No comments:

Post a Comment