April 15, 2008

Beck: Odelay (Deluxe Edition)

In the late Nineties every music critic seemed to have a crush on Beck. The rest of the world pigeonholed him as one-hit wonder after his surprise hit Loser in 1994. Then came Odelay, an album that covered nearly every genre in the alternate rock business and inventing many new ones along the way. It was one those albums that is fun and challenging at the same time.

Beck: Odelay

The Deluxe Edition is a 2CD and comes with lots of outtakes, B-sides and soundtracks songs. There are also three remix tracks that you will probably listen to only once, and not the whole way through a that. Odelay has stood the test of time with ease. Beck was the Captain Beefheart for the hiphop alterna-dance crowd, who can drill a hole into you eardrums with the highly unpleasant Novacane at one moment, and be Frank Black the next in Minus. Beck is at this best when can poke fun a things. Listen to the previously unreleased Gold Chains, a great putdown on hiphop parafernalia.

Disc One (Original album):
  1. Devil's Haircut
  2. Hotwax
  3. Lord Only Knows
  4. The New Pollution
  5. Derelict
  6. Novacane
  7. Jack-Ass
  8. Where It's At
  9. Minus
  10. Sissyneck
  11. Readymade
  12. High 5 (Rock the Catskills)
  13. Ramshackle
  14. Hidden Track
    Bonus tracks:
  15. Deadweight
  16. Inferno
  17. Gold Chains
Disc Two:
  1. Where It's At (UNKLE remix)
  2. Richard's Hairpiece (Aphex Twin remix of "Devil's Haircut")
  3. American Wasteland (Mickey P. remix of "Devil's Haircut")
  4. Clock
  5. Thunder Peel
  6. Electric Music and the Summer People
  7. Lemonade
  8. SA-5
  9. Feather in Your Cap
  10. Erase the Sun
  11. 000.000
  12. Brother
  13. Devil Got My Woman
  14. Trouble All My Days
  15. Strange Invitation
  16. Burro

Odelay (DeLuxe Edition) is released on Geffen / Universal.

» beck.com

No comments:

Post a Comment