March 20, 2008

Joe Satriani: Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock

What can be said about Joe Satriani that hasn't been said a million times before? He is the guitar player who plays more notes in one song than is humanly possible. His 13th album Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock drops March 31 (April 1 in the States). Satriani went for the heavy rock on this one and he is quite good at it (he stepped in for Ritchie Blackmore once, rescuing Deep Purple out of a terrible jam). A first on this album is his son ZZ Satriani on sax.

So, is this album any good then? As per usual it will scare the hell out of budding guitar players who might want to take up knitting or embroidering instead. The rest of us can drop in the player without any trouble and listen his flawless fingering of the frets, especially in Diddle-y-a-doo-dat and Asik Vaysel, which was inspired by the Turkish musician. Any new Satriani is a vintage Satriani at the same time. Satch geeks might want to read notes on O, and in case you are wondering: musterion is just the Greek word for mystery.

Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock is released on Sony/BMG. You can stream I Just Wanna Rock from his official website.

Track listing:
  1. Musterion
  2. Overdriver
  3. I Just Wanna Rock
  4. Professor Satchafunkilus
  5. Revelation
  6. Come On Baby
  7. Out of the Sunrise
  8. Diddle-y-a-doo-dat
  9. Asik Vaysel
  10. Andalusia

Satriani's 9-date UK tour starts on 12th May at Birmingham Symphony Hall.


No comments:

Post a Comment