August 30, 2004


The long wait is over:

Brian Wilson has been making a lot of Beach Boys fans very happy lately. After digging through reels and reels of tapes containing the myriad pieces of his lost masterpiece, Smile, Wilson hit the road this spring and summer to perform the album in its entirety. Later, Wilson revealed plans to officially release the album this fall via Nonesuch Records, but retracted the comment shortly thereafter to state that the record would instead be released in a new, re-recorded form-- not spliced together from the original, frequently bootlegged 1967 master tapes. The official release date is now September 28th, and the tracklist, to our great pleasure, has now been announced:
  1. Our Prayer / Gee
  2. Heroes and Villains
  3. Roll Plymouth Rock
  4. Barnyard
  5. Old Master Painter / You Are My Sunshine
  6. Cabin Essence
  7. Wonderful
  8. Song for Children
  9. Child Is Father of the Man
  10. Surf's Up
  11. I'm In Great Shape / I Wanna Be Around / Workshop
  12. Vega-Tables
  13. On a Holiday
  14. Wind Chimes
  15. Mrs. O'Leary's Cow
  16. In Blue Hawaii
  17. Good Vibrations

No comments:

Post a Comment