June 30, 2024

Fernando Perdomo + Matt Tecu: Art

Give two virtuosos a free reign and one of two things will happen: excessive noodling of the "look-mom-no hands" variety or locking into a groove, listen carefully to each other, and create something that is bigger than the sum of its parts. Fernando Perdomo (guitar, bass, keys, Mellotron) and Matt Tecu (drums, percussion, voice, acoustic guitar) had the audacity to call their collaborative album Art, but they pulled it off with a collection of progressive fusion tracks, mixing rock and jazz, tailor made for independent movies set in a sun beat environment.

Perdomo and Tecu both can hand over an impressive resume, which landed them jobs with high profile artists. This album shows their compositional skills, without the pressure of an outside A&R guy or producer breathing down their neck. The tracks on Art soar and fly. Fingers crossed it lands on a desk of an exec who will ask nothing, safe to go back to the studio and record a follow-up asap, with his company picking up the tab. There is no such thing as too much of good thing.

Art is released via Think Like a Key (vinyl, CD, digital).

  1. Start Your Engines
  2. Teal
  3. Chase On The PCH
  4. Bed Of Followers
  5. El Swanko
  6. Apple Of The Cheek
  7. Marmalade Cascade
  8. BCP
  9. Naan Negociable
  10. 309 AM
  11. Glow Pop
  12. Tankered
  13. Tiny Spies
  14. Cool Your Jets

» fernandoperdomo.com
» Matt Tecu on Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment