October 28, 2022

Tim O'Connell: On Broadway

Songwriter Tim O'Connell has released On Broadway, the first of three albums telling the tale of Terry, a songwriter from West Texas who dreams to make it big and heads to Nashville in the early 1970. It has quite a few of autobiographical elements - O'Connell lives in Music City, USA and wrote songs for a wealth of country artists, including one for Johnny Cash. As was made clear on last year's Silent Nights, his vocals are a bit flat and reaching high notes isn't happening. As a storyteller however, he can stand up against pretty much anyone in his chosen field.

On Broadway is a country album (Write 'em, Cowboy, Best Day Ever), branching out to the Great American Songbook and the Big Band Era swing (Down Around Readyville, Hot Licks, Warm Beer, Cold Food). On this first album of the projected trilogy protagonist Terry is on the way up, but changes are that trouble lies ahead on the next one.

On Broadway is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Write 'em, Cowboy
  2. Just Another Lonely Night
  3. Dance With Me
  4. Down Around Readyville
  5. It's Just the Way that You Love Me
  6. Best Day Ever
  7. I Hope It Rains All Night
  8. But I Love You
  9. A Love Song
  10. Hot Licks, Warm Beer, Cold Food
  11. Top of the Charts
  12. Another Tuesday Night
  13. Departures Can Be Tearful
  14. Everything Hurts Worse When You're in Love

» timoconnell.bandzoogle.com

HCTF review of Silent Nights.

No comments:

Post a Comment