September 14, 2021

Euphemia Rise: Born a Cow

Belgian multi-instrumentalist Wim Lankriet explores the darker side of human emotions and longings on Born a Cow, the debut album by his Euphemia Rise project. He never judges, telling tales about rent boys, drugs, prostitution, sadomasochism, and rape. Most people look away from those subjects, but Lankriet exposes them, using a mix of metal, psychedelic and gothic rock.

He was in a relationship with a person who suffers from paranoid schizophrenia (Come to the Other Side) and it did not work out, no matter how hard he tried. In Heaven in Your Hand he was sucked dry emotionally by partner, until at long last he was able to end it. On the upside: he dreams about a better future, finding a real life version of his dream girl in Surviving the Dreams and finds solace in a picture of football legend Pele in the instrumental The Miracle Child. Lankriet is brutally honest, capturing his despair and hope with clinical precision. It is a road less travelled, but it is an interesting journey for sure.

Euphemia Rise: Born a Cow

Born a Cow is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Born a Cow
  2. Half Your Life
  3. Surviving the Dreams
  4. Come to the Other Side
  5. The Miracle Child
  6. A Rose Shattered
  7. Matthew 16:26
  8. Heaven in Your Hands



No comments:

Post a Comment