May 28, 2021

The Bablers: Psychadilly Circus

Finnish pop quartet The Bablers consists of incurable Anglophiles. They have been around since the late 70s and have been keeping the Merseybeat and power pop flags flying in a three separate eras - as a bunch of bratty teenagers who loved New Wave nearly as much as The Beatles, a short-lived comeback in 1998 when they were big in Japan for awhile, and the current third reincarnation. Led by songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Arto Tamminen the new album Psychadilly Circus is a journey to the past when the sound of Swinging London ruled the airwaves.

Bookended by two versions of Love Is Everything! the band delivers a set of carefully crafted and superbly arranged songs about love, grief, getting older and, well yes, hope. The Bablers are old school, have mastered their instruments, and they can carry a tune without cheating software. Their days of being an Angry Young Man are long gone - they prefer Walking On A Sunny Beach nowadays.

The Bablers:
Arto Tamminen: vocals, guitar, slide guitar, bass, drums (second set on track 1 and 15), piano, organ, synthesizers, cello, flute, tambourine
Janne Haavisto: drums, percussion, backing vocals
Pekka Gröhn: bass, organ, electric piano, harmonium, backing vocals
Hannu Pikkarainen: guitar, slide guitar, drums (on track 10) backing vocals

Psychadilly Circus is released via Big Stir Records (CD, digital).

  1. Love Is Everything!
  2. Psychadilly Circus
  3. Queen Of Yesterday
  4. I Hope It Wouldn't Rain Tomorrow
  5. All Because Of You
  6. Unidentified
  7. Where Were You My Friend
  8. Some Tears
  9. Angry Young Man
  10. Love To Live
  11. Walking On A Sunny Beach
  12. Child Of War
  13. When You Were Growing
  14. Singing With The Bluebird
  15. Love Is Everything! (Speedy's Sixties Mix)

» The Bablers on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment