December 02, 2020

Jim Knable & The Randy Bandits: Blue Reunion

Way back in 2009 The Randy Bandits released their superb Americana album Golden Arrow. Life got in the way after that, the members scattered and pursued other careers, but now the band's frontman Jim Knable has rallied the troops for another shot at fame and recognition. Blue Reunion finds the band in full-on outlaw country mode, peppered with a smattering of gospel, swagger, swing and honky-tonk piano..

On the album Knable looks with a birdview's perspective at the happenings in the last decade, zooming in on details with uncanny precision. The band has deepened their sound - note the bottom end courtesy of Jay Buchanan's upricht bass - and it really comes together in the slower passages. The years have been kind to the Bandits. Creating timeleas music was always their goal and with Blue Reunion they pass with flying colours.

The Randy Bandits:
Jim Knable: lead vocals, acoustic guitar, tambourine
Russ Kaplan: piano, electric piano
Chris Q. Murphy: electric guitar
Jay Buchanan: upright bass, backing vocals, banjo
Sunny Knable: drums, accordion, organ, piano (on "Mourning Dove")
Regina Bain: vocals (on "Won't Drag Me Down")

Blue Reunion is released on Soul Kebab Records Release date: December 8.

  1. (I'm Not a) Bad Guy
  2. Don't Get Lost
  3. Lifetime Ago
  4. Never Any Right Age
  5. Won't Drag Me Down
  6. Citadel
  7. Judas Tree
  8. Everything Is Not All Right
  9. Mourning Dove


HCTF review of Golden Arrow.


  1. Good stuff with great honky-tonk piano player & deep voice mix & swing country sound ..... Jim Knable & the Randy Bandits get savoir-faire ahead with newxt followin' songs "Never any right age " / " Bad Guy "/ " Every is not all right among others tracks ..... A must ( Patryck Albert / Radio 103.1 / FR. ) !

    1. Thanks, Patryck! I really appreciate you comments here. Happy 2021!