September 11, 2020

Jon Strahl Band: Heartache and Toil

The Jon Strahl Band mix blues, rock and soul like they did back in the day. Their new album Heartache and Toil is like a comfy blanket: piano, brass, bass, drums and guitar are all there with crystal clear separation. Strahl's slightly hoarse baritone voice has a natural swing with just hint of twang.

The band lays down infectious groves that can get a crowd going - case in point: the upbeat Can't Look Back and the album's lead single Hey Yeah, All Right. breather songs are needed every now and then in a set and The Weight I Feel and Only Ones I Need take their of that. They have been playing their asses off for years and they must chomping at the bit to get out there again. Recommended if you like Booker T. & the M.G.'s and the Blues Brothers.

Jon Strahl, guitar, vocals
Bill Mallers, keyboards
Nick Mallers, drums, percussion
Mitch Millhoff: bass.
Joshua Silbert: saxophones and arrangements
Bruce Knepper: trumpet
Charlie Krone: trombone

Heartache and Toil is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Hey Yeah, All Right
  2. How Long
  3. Heartache and Toil
  4. The Right Thing
  5. Lose My Mind
  6. Can't Look Back
  7. The Weight I Feel
  8. Leave Me Alone
  9. Only Ones I Need
  10. Day After Day
  11. So Real
  12. Indiana Moonrise


No comments:

Post a Comment