August 05, 2020

Librarians With Hickeys: Long Overdue

Librarians With Hickeys

Power pop quartet Librarians With Hickeys are a first and foremost singles band, the kind who have trouble writing a B-side and opting for double A-sides instead. The Akron, Ohio based band took a leap of faith and released their first album Long Overdue and it's more like a collection of six great singles, without the hassle of flipping and changing the 7" every couple of minutes.

They always put the melody first. Taking cues from the peak years of pop they sing songs about their dealings with the fairer sex. They navigate the treacherous waters of getting a date with Be My Plus One and the superb Next Time wherein the singer declares that he might get as far as "telling I love her" eventually. It is all delivered with a sense of longing for a candy-coloured past when they were young, innocent and hopeful. The angry Leave Me Alone after being shafted and the sultry Black Velvet Dress are like letters written in hindsight. This is upbeat yet introspective collection of songs that is a tribute to the jukebox era.

Librarians With Hickeys:
Ray Carmen: vocals, rhythm guitar
Rob Crossley: drums
Mike Crooker: lead guitar, vocals
Andrew Wilco: bass

Long Overdue is released via Big Stir Records (CD, digital). Release date: August 14.

  1. Until There Was You
  2. That Time Is Now
  3. And Then She's Gone
  4. Be My Plus One
  5. Next Time
  6. Obsession
  7. Leave Me Alone
  8. Poor Reception
  9. Silent Stars
  10. Alex
  11. Looking For Home
  12. Black Velvet Dress

» Librarians With Hickeys on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment