July 04, 2020

Glyn Bailey: Testament

Glyn Bailey may reside in Spain right now, but his music sound undeniably English. His new album Testament is a carefully crafted piece of orchestral pop, with his lyrics telling stories where joy and despair are equal partners, plus a wicked sense of humour to top it off. Bailey's nuances are mirrored in the music. Saxophone, clarinet, piano, trumpet and organ supersede the classic guitar, baas and drums format.

Testament is all about gentle textures as he looks back on his life so far. He travelled, he loved, he mourned and all those things are captured in lush arrangements that will sit well with fans of Scott Walker, Rufus Wainwright and early Seventies David Bowie. Bailey is a captivating story teller, a poet in the guise of a seasoned rocker. Testament is a summation of his career until now, but it s by no means the final chapter.

Glyn Bailey: songs and vocals
Philip Maxwell Senior: guitar & bass
James Coupe: piano & organ
Tony Hession: saxophone & clarinet
Owen Wright: drums
Martin Durkin: double bass
Mike Taylor: piano on 'The Light'
Tom Royle: drums on 'Spark'
Tony Brindle-Wills: church organ on 'Muse's Rules'
John Edward Keys: organ on 'Eyes'
John McLafferty: saxophone on 'Jacques'
Jean Southern: accordion on 'Jacques'
Dave Boot: trumpet on 'Muse's Rules'
The Beechwood Choir: Lizz Beahan, Sharon Mary Butler, Philip Maxwell Senior, John Gardner

Testament is a self-released album. Buy it from his website (CD, digital).

  1. Jacques in the City
  2. The Light
  3. Serenity
  4. Eyes
  5. Muse's Rules
  6. Marswalkers
  7. Where
  8. Spark
  9. A Good Singer and a Good Song
  10. A Moment

» glynbailey.com

No comments:

Post a Comment