June 16, 2020

The Bye Bye Blackbirds: Boxer At Rest

Californian power pop band The Bye Bye Blackbirds are rocking out on their new album Boxer At Rest. The recording sessions came together amidst quite a bit of turmoil. Guitarist Lenny Gill had to have a heart transplant. His fellow band members have finished tracking their parts, leaving space while they waited nine long months for him to recover. He did so and he laid down all his bits in a single day.

The passing of friends and loved ones are the main theme. alternating between sadness, grief, and fond memories of better days, It gives Boxer At Rest sense of urgency, almost a plea to capture the moment. The glorious harmonies in Watch Them Chime are classic West Coast, but they can pull off a Velvets-alike monolithic riff just as well in the sprawling If It Gets Light. The Bye Bye Blackbirds have been to Hell and back, and Boxer At Rest documents their mixed emotions for all who care to listen.

Boxer At Rest is a self-released album (vinyl, CD, digital). Buy it from their website.

  1. You Were All Light
  2. How Do We Stay
  3. So True
  4. Baby It's Still You
  5. Words & Signs
  6. Watch Them Chime
  7. War Is Still Hell
  8. If It Gets Light
  9. All Our Friends

» The Bye Bye Blackbirds on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment