October 18, 2019

Janiva Magness: Change In The Weather

Filling an album with someone else's songs is a tricky business. Fans of the original artist are prone to dismiss it, jus because they can, and it is often seen as a sign of a stop gap release and/or a below-par oddity in a discography. Blues and jazz singer Janiva Magness takes on the output of John Fogerty and although she looks beyond the classics that he wrote in his Creedence Clearwater Revival days Change In The Weather plays it safe, adding a bit of country here and there and ironing out most of the anger that is an essential ingredient of songs like Wrote A Song For Everyone and Fortunate Son.

Janiva Magness can sing her heart out, but she should have gone for either a rougher sound or radically rearranged the material. In its current state Change In The Weather is nor more than a well-made karaoke album.

Change In The Weather is a self-released album. Buy it from her website.

  1. Change In The Weather
  2. Lodi (feat. Sam Morrow)
  3. Someday Never Comes
  4. Wrote A Song For Everyone
  5. Don’t You Wish It Was True (feat. Taj Mahal)
  6. Have You Ever Seen The Rain
  7. Bad Moon Rising
  8. Blueboy
  9. Fortunate Son
  10. Deja Vu (All Over Again)
  11. A Hundred And Ten In The Shade
  12. Lookin’ Out My Back Door

» janivamagness.com

No comments:

Post a Comment