January 10, 2019

Mozes and the Firstborn: Dadcore

Dutch psychedelic garage rock quartet Mozes and the Firstborn don't give a fuck about what is hip and happening. They named their third Dadcore, because rock is now considered to be the music of parents and the kids are into hiphop and modern day R∓B. Well, it's not that simple, but nevetheless it's a bold move to release an album with connected (albeit loosely) songs in an age when listening to the whole thing will be a stretch for the limited attention span of the streaming generation.

Taking cues for Dutch beat boom of the late sixties and moving forward in time via Big Star, Pixies and Nirvana, this a 101 for a couple of decades worth of influences. Dads can go out on a limb pointing out the references, but rest assured: it can be enjoyed as stand-alone statement from a band who are keen to keep the tradition alive and something new to it as well.

Mozes and the Firstborn:
Melle Dielesen: guitar/vocals
Raven Aartsen: drums
Corto Blommaert: bass
Ernst-Jan van Doorn: guitar

Dadcore is released on Burger Records. Release date: January 25.

  1. D
  2. Dadcore (feat. together PANGEA)
  3. A
  4. If I
  5. Baldy
  6. D
  7. Sad Supermarket Song
  8. Fly Out I
  9. Blow Up
  10. C
  11. Hello
  12. O
  13. Scotch Tape/Stick With Me (feat. Kelsey Reckling)
  14. We'Re All Saints
  15. R
  16. Amen
  17. E
  18. Fly Out II

Live dates:
  • 03/07 Amsterdam @ Bitterzoet
  • 03/14 Utrecht @ Ekko
  • 03/16 Amsterdam @ AFAS Live (supporting De Staat)

» mozesandthefirstborn.com

No comments:

Post a Comment