April 28, 2018

Otzeki: Binary Childhood

Electronic dance rock duo Otzeki mix it up on their debut album Binary Childhood. Mike and Joel, two cousins based in London, combine languishing guitar, harsh but catchy keyboards, dry drum patterns, and dreamy vocals to create a hybrid of indie and dance. Think a mash-up of Bronski Beat (Sun Is Rising), the guitar excursions of Brian Wenckebach and a hint of The Kinks in of the Village Green-era (case in point: Are You For Real).

It's a slow burner. Something new comes to the fore after each listen. Press repeat. And repeat again.

Binary Childhood is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. All the Animals
  2. Pay the Tax
  3. Already Dead
  4. True Love
  5. Nobody Like You
  6. Are You For Real
  7. Sun Is Rising
  8. Foreign Love
  9. Angry Fix
  10. Walk on
  11. Ships Are Coming
  12. Strife

Live dates:
  • 05/01 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Melkweg (Upstairs)
  • 05/02 Nijmegen, Netherlands @ Tickets
  • 05/03 Brussels, Begium @ Les Nuits Botanique
  • 05/05 Liverpool, Gb @ Sound City
  • 05/06 Glasgow, Gb @ Stag & Dagger
  • 05/08 Dublin, Ireland @ Workman's Club
  • 05/09 Manchester, Gb @ Soup Kitchen
  • 05/12 Bristol, Gb @ Crofters Rights
  • 05/13 Brighton, Gb @ Bau Wow
  • 05/30 Leeds, Gb @ Flux Day & Night Party

» otzeki.com/

No comments:

Post a Comment