April 24, 2018

Eureka California: Roadrunners

photo: Stacey Piotrowski

Athens, GA band lo-fi garage rock duo Eureka California inserted a bit of surf and grunge into the songs on their new album Roadrunners. Jake Ward (guitar, vocals) and Marie A. Uhler (drums) tackle underground CIA projects (MKUltra), the Three Mile Island accident (Threads), a billionaire turned paranoid recluse (Howard Hughes at the Sands), sniper rifles (SWDs and other decidedly non-mainstream subjects.

While the subject is dead-serious, the killer riffs, rumbling drums, and aloof vocal delivery make it a record that also can enjoyed as-is. It's a rambling, politically charged party record, not unlike some of the punk bands of yesteryear.

Roadrunners will be released on May 4th thru Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records (vinyl, CD, digital).

  1. MKUltra
  2. Perfect Grammar
  3. Threads
  4. Time After Time After Time After Time
  5. Over It
  6. I Can't Look In Yr Direction
  7. Howard Hughes at the Sands
  8. Buffalo Bills 1990 - 1993
  9. JJT
  10. SWDs
  11. Gila Monster
  12. Telephone Tone
  13. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  14. Mexican Coke

Live dates:
  • 04/25 Brooklyn, NY @ The Well
  • 04/27 Washington, DC
  • 04/28 Roanoke, VA @ Parkway Brewing Co
  • 04/29 Chapel Hill, NC @ The Cave
  • 04/30 Greenville, SC @ The Radio Room
  • 05/04 Athens, GA @ Little Kings (Record Release Show)
  • 05/18 Seattle, WA @ Woodland Theater (w/ Flying Fish Cove)
  • 05/19 Portland, OR @ Pop Tavern
  • 05/21 Arcata, CA @ Miniplex
  • 05/23 San Francisco, CA @ The Knockout
  • 05/24 Oakland, CA @ White Horse
  • 07/27-29 Butterley, Uk @ Indietracks (Midland Railway)
  • 08/08-11 Athens, GA @ Athens Popfest

» eurekacaliforniaband.com

HCTF review of Wigwam.