January 02, 2018

Yellow Feather: And Gold

The seeds for Americana trio Yellow Feather were sown in Old For. t, North Carolina when guitarist Hunter Begley found a place to stay with singer Casey Kristofferson. The songs for their debut album And Gold found their bearings when Charlie Willis came in with his lap steel. It's first and foremost a record that puts the vocals front and center. The lyrics are quite funny sometimes, most notably in Key of C and Pirate's Love Song (basically a series of questions about songwriting).

A wealth of guest players - Rob Parks (bass) Lyndsay Pruitt (fiddle), Aaron Lee Tasjan (guitar), Brian White (electric guitar), Jimmy Rowland (keys) - make And Gold an album that will go down well with hardcore roots fans, as well as admirers of The Band and the Tedeschi Trucks Band. Yellow Feather are able to swing with a lazy back beat, with deceptively simple sounding music that is quite hard to play.

Yellow Feather:
Hunter Begley: guitar, vocals
Casey Kristofferson: vocals
Charlie Willis: lap steel

And Gold is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. If You Ain't Cheatin'
  2. Swallow You Down
  3. Sarah Accidentally
  4. Lucille
  5. Fences
  6. Key of C
  7. Pirate's Love Song
  8. Blood and Bones
  9. Couch Farm
  10. Cardinal Rose
  11. Dirty Feet
  12. Lost All Direction

» yellowfeatherband.com

1 comment:

  1. This song and video are the best things I have seen and heard all week! Brilliant lyrics and hilarious video. Well done, Yellow Feather Band! Thanks, Rich Thomas (Mint)