November 28, 2017

Distant Creatures: Snares in Safe Harbors

Distant Creatures are a dream pop from Northern Virginia who like to dabble in folk, post-rock and orchestral pop. Their latest album Snares in Safe Harbors is best experienced in one sitting to fully appreciate the almost seamless sequencing of the songs. With two multi-instrumentalists, a rhythm section that can run rings among most of the competition and a singer that can whisper and rock out the quintet has plenty of moods to choose from while keeping an overall consistent sound.

They can be gentle and almost shy (Unsure), harsh and confident (Pause for Epiphany) and mysterious and menacing (A Song for No Name). By adding a violin and cello sadness and melancholy come to the fore where it is needed and carefully placed feedback pops up when anger prevails. Recommended if you like Deleyaman, The Sundays and Dead Leaf Echo.

Distant Creatures:
Mina Karimi: vocals
Dane Di Pierro: guitars, synthesizers, backing vocals, keyboard, additional percussion
Chris Mathews: guitars, vocals, string arrangements, melodica, Glockenspiel, synthesizer
Ben Silvernail: drums
Mike Lewis: bass

Additional musicians:
Valerie Kuehne: cello
Kim Venitz: violin
Thomas Bowen: additional percussion

Snares in Safe Harbors is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. A Friend's Halo
  2. Ceremony
  3. Unsure
  4. In Real Life
  5. Night Flowers
  6. Haunted by You
  7. Low Spirits
  8. Faith
  9. Mistaken
  10. Pause for Epiphany
  11. A Song for No Name
  12. Adrift
  13. Rip Me Away

» Distant Creatures on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment