June 16, 2017

Them Jones: Grow

As long as time machines are only a reality in Sci-fi stories the best way to travel to the past is listening to music. Philadelphia neo-psych band Them Jones sound like they have been kept in storage since 1968 on their new full-length Grow, a collection of pastoral, echo-heavy tunes. They are fiercely retro, building a wall of guitars and weaving vocal tapestries. They pick a riff, turn it inside out and take it into day-glo back alleys of melodic rock.

With tracks like the high energy Nuggets-throwback Flowers for Butterflies and the slow moving vocals and keyboards extravaganza Shiva they cover most of the ground that was first explored on the West Coast in the late Sixties. Them Jones know their music history, and are able to add a new chapter to the already bulging book of psychedelic rock. Recommended if you like the Lovin' Spoonful, the Outsiders, and contemporary acts like The Luck of Eden Hall and Elephant Stone.

Them Jones:
Dan Leyden: drums
Jim Leyden: bass, vocals, production
Dan Matrone: guitar
Matthew Rowland: guitar
Frank Tobin: rhythm guitar, vocals

Grow is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Welcome!
  2. Grow
  3. Flowers for Butterflies
  4. Many Years of You
  5. Maya
  6. The Cosmic Syllable
  7. Shiva
  8. The Brave Mosquito
  9. Intermission!
  10. All the Time in the World
  11. Bug People
  12. To Love Me is to Drug Me
  13. Where Echoes Unite
  14. Rosy Retrospection

» Them Jones on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment