August 01, 2016

Emily Rodgers: 2 Years

photo: Todd Michael Sherman

Ethereal Folk rock singer Emily Rodgers took her time to come up with a follow-up for her 2009 album Bright Day. This time producer Kramer was part of the process from the start of the recording sessions for 2 Years, making the sound more cohesive and leading her to the hills and valleys of the emotions that are upfront in her new material. Rogers has a voice that is tailor made for gentle string arrangements, drums played with brushes and a lonesome guitar showing the way.

2 Years swirls and oozes, mixing elements of dreampop with traditional roots music. Rogers can turn melancholy and going down the drain into a positive thing (Burn Out). A rare feat and the same goes for her bold take on the Neil Young classic I Believe In You. Fingers crossed that it won't take her seven years again to release the next one.

Emily Rodgers: vocals, guitar
Erik Cirelli: guitar
Allison Kacmar Richards: bass
Megan Williams: violin
Mark Lyons: drums

2 Years is released thru Misra Records.

  1. No Last Call
  2. Anyone
  3. Hurt
  4. Two Years
  5. Right Lie
  6. Waiting For You
  7. Burn Out
  8. In the City
  9. Walk Don't Run
  10. I Believe In You

Live dates:
  • 08/13 Lancaster, PA @ The Candy Factory (w/ Here Inside)
  • 08/14 Baltimore, MD @ The Windup Space (w/ Sharks)
  • 08/20 Chicago, IL @ Tonic Room (w/ Adam Remnant and MAKS the Fox)


No comments:

Post a Comment