May 16, 2016

Oh Halo: Burden Of Light

BEST OF 2016

NYC dream pop band Oh Halo are mixing dark poetry with accessible sonic tapestries on their new album Burden Of Light. All three band members are multi-instrumentalists, giving them ample opportunity to search for the best vibe for each song. Driven forward by the vocals of lyricist Julie Dicterow, who sounds like a mix of Evagelia Maravelias (Elika) and Laura Burhenn (The Mynabirds), it is a record on which water is the key element, as a soothing and potentially lethal force.

With songs about dealing with medicine dependence (Bring Down Waterfall) and pain (Turn Me Around) this is a serious batch of tracks. Charlie Nieland (bass, guitar) used all his skills as a producer to ensure that the overall sound is open-ended and inviting, carefully balancing the heavy-handed lyrics with the soft-spoken music - another feat of light and shade that has made them an underground favourite in their niche.

Oh Halo:
Julie Dicterow: Vocals, Boss VE-20 Vocal Processor, Yamaha Grand Piano, Fender Rhodes Electric Piano, Roland Lucina AX-09 Synth, Korg MS 20 Synth, Logic V2 Synth, Sylenth Synth, MTron Piano & Flute, Percussion
Marcy Hokama: Yamaha Grand Piano, Glockenspiel, MTron Violins, Brass, French Horn & Vibes, Miroslav Philharmonik Piano, Soniccouture Xtended Piano, Logic EVP-88 Electric Piano
Charlie Nieland: Rickenbacker 4003 Bass, Fender Jazz Bass, Vantage Fretless Bass, NS NXT Upright Electric Bass, Hagstrom Swede Electric Guitar picked and bowed, Joe Morrell Pro Lap Steel Guitar, Roland GR-33 Guitar Synth, Drums, Percussion

Burden Of Light is a released thru Miles of Moonnlight Records. Buy it from their website.

  1. Far To Fall
  2. Bring Down Waterfall
  3. Blue Bell
  4. Stars
  5. Dream Without Birds
  6. Tango
  7. Guardian
  8. Turn Me Around

» Oh Halo on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment