December 03, 2015

Turkuaz: Digitonium

Brooklyn based funk nonet Turkuaz crammed 24 tracks onto their Digitonium album. While some of them are mere sketches - The Cup Runneth Over is all over after 21 seconds - they are essential for the flow of a superb party record (and giving the folks on the dance floor a change to catch their breath).

Parliament and Talking Heads had a baby and it's a fucking cool kid. It makes perfect that it says "Press start" on the CD. Keep it running and dance the night away with the upbeat Murder Face, afrobeat meets disco Bijou Drains, the Birddog, the Eighties funk rave-ups European Festivity Nightmare and The Generator, and the electro pop ballad King Computer. File under guilty pleasures and good time music.

Dave Brandwein: guitar, vocals
Taylor Shell: bass
Craig Brodhead: guitar, keyboards
Michelangelo Carubba: drums
Chris Brouwers: trumpet, keyboards
Greg Sanderson: tenor sax
Josh Schwartz: baritone sax, vocals
Sammi Garett: vocals, tambourine
Shira Elias: vocals

Digitonium is released on Techne Records. Buy it from their website.

  1. Introduction
  2. Lift It Up
  3. Murder Face
  4. The Cup Runneth Over
  5. Nightswimming
  6. Bijou Drains, the Birddog
  7. Percy Thrills, the Moondog
  8. Fish out of Water
  9. Doktor Jazz
  10. European Festivity Nightmare
  11. Home Again
  12. Overture
  13. Digital Love
  14. Nightswimming, Pt. 2
  15. Barking up the Wrong Tree
  16. Lika
  17. Outerlude
  18. The Generator
  19. Bird of Prey
  20. Zynth
  21. Digitonium
  22. The Time Has Come
  23. Bermuda
  24. King Computer

Live dates:
  • 12/31 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
    (The Ball Drop w/ Dopapod, Kung Fu)
  • 01/28 Columbus, OH @ Woodlands Tavern
  • 01/30 Indianapolis, IN @ Vogue Theatre
  • 01/31 Urbana, IL @ The Canopy Club
  • 03/03 Live Oak, FL @ AURA Music & Arts Festival
  • 03/04 Live Oak, FL @ AURA Music & Arts Festival
  • 03/05 Live Oak, FL @ AURA Music & Arts Festival

No comments:

Post a Comment