October 23, 2015

Sabatta: Middle Of The Night

Anger, sex and energy are the key ingredients of London based grunge soul with a ska twist power trio Sabatta on their new album Middle Of The Night. Led by Yinka Oyewole this a tough band with the heart in the right place. Whether they sing about seduction (I Wanna) or the government (Politician (I'm Not A)) the urgency of the vocals prevails, even when Oyewole switches to falsetto - his range is a match for Corey Clover's finest work with Living Colour.

Fiercely independent and on a shoestring budget they made every note count on this rather short album. It's all over much too soon. Can somebody slip them a few quid with no questions asked so that they carry on their good work?

Yinka Oyewole: vocals, guitar
Komla Ayewoh: bass, vocals
Adriano Siani: drums

Middle Of The Night is a self-released album. Buy it (pay-what-you-want) from their website.

  1. Politician (I'm Not A)
  2. Go And Be Damned
  3. Let Off The Leash
  4. Last 5 Minutes
  5. Middle Of The Night
  6. I Wanna
  7. Always You
  8. Have a Go Hero (Exquisite Pain)

Live dates:
  • 10/30 London, UK @ Bird's Nest
  • 11/05 London, UK @ Surya
  • 01/19 Bristol, UK @ Mr Wolf's
  • 03/11 London, UK @ Ritzy

» sabatta.net

HCTF review of Know My Name.

No comments:

Post a Comment