September 27, 2015

NO blues: Oh Yeah Habibi

Dutch quintet NO blues are a one of kind band, mixing electric blues with musical instruments from the Middle Eastern school. They named their style arabicana and have grown into a festival favorite. First and foremost a live act their studio records serve as snapshots of their development and the tracks new one album Oh Yeah Habibi are the culmination of ten intensive years as a working band.

When two genres meet at a crossroads is common practice to trade a couple signature elements after which they go their separate ways. The members of NO Blues decided to stick together and create something new, honoring the old Socrates adage that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. With tracks like Two Trains , a blend of 12-bar blues and Middle-Eastern vocalizing, and the call-and-response vocals in The Moment, they proof once again that they have a sharp eye for political turmoil, without succumbing to pontificating. Oh Yeah Habibi is an exceptional example of a full-grown cross-over album.

NO blues:
Ad van Meurs: vocals, guitar
Haytham Safia: vocals, u’d
Osama Maleegi: percussion
Anne-Maarten van Heuvelen: vocals, bass
Ankie Keultjes: vocals, synthesizer

Oh Yeah Habibi is released on ONusual Records. Distribution: Continental Record Services. Release date: October 8th>.

  1. Into The Caravan
  2. Imta
  3. Doubt
  4. Two Trains
  5. Eshos
  6. Exodus
  7. The World Keeps Turning
  8. Sudani
  9. Oh Yeah Habibi
  10. The Moment
  11. Osama Blues
  12. Gods Move

Live dates:
  • 10/08 Deventer @ Deventer Schouwburg
  • 10/16 Middelburg @ Theater de Wegwijzer
  • 10/30 Utrecht @ Rasa
  • 10/31 TilBurg @ Paradox
  • 11/29 Amsterdam @ Paradiso


No comments:

Post a Comment