September 01, 2015

Century Thief: Reverie

Toronto based folk sextet Century Thief tend to overdo it on their new album Reverie. With all members trying really hard to make their mark and the songs suffer. Which is shame, because the basic ideas and melodies are quite good. Think The Beautiful South on a shoestring budget after a rough night.

Being in a band is about listening to the other players. Voices and instruments should be collaborating, not competing. Invest in hiring an engineering/mixing guru who puts his feet down for the next one and changes are that they can expand beyond the Ontario club circuit.

Century Thief:
Jason Cliffen: drums
Alex Furlot: bass
Kathryn Kearns: vocals, keyboards, wind
Michael Legere: guitar, vocals
Adam Reid: brass
Omar Shabbar: guitar, vocals

Reverie is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Time Goes
  2. Sabotage
  3. Stick Stone
  4. Pillar
  5. City Banks
  6. Intuition
  7. Memo
  8. Change
  9. Oh Beautiful Impermanence
  10. Drugs and Gin
  11. Centre Street
  12. House On Fire
  13. Under The Cloud Cover

Live dates:
  • 09/02 The Red Garnet, Peterborough
  • 09/03 Musiikki, Kingston
  • 09/04 Pressed, Ottawa
  • 09/05 Le Cagibi, Montreal, Quebec, CAN
  • 09/10 The Piston, Toronto, Ontario
  • 09/19 East Village Arts Coop (EVAC), London
  • 10/10 The Brownstone, Orillia
  • 10/24 Cornerstone, Guelph
  • 11/04 Junction City Music Hall, Toronto
  • 11/28 The Townehouse, Greater Sudbury


No comments:

Post a Comment