January 19, 2015

Churn Milk Joan: Dethroned Hog

American Richard Knutson (Plum Flower Embroidery. Neutral Sons, The Chacers) and Englishman Colin Robinson (Big Block 454, Jumble Hole Clough) share a love for Beefheart-alike avant-garde Krautrock topped of with a dose of electronics. Operating as Churn Milk Joan they have built an underground following. Their seventh album Dethroned Hog was recorded in bursts and fits over a two-year period. With snippets of jazz, warped XTC melodies, blink-and-you'll-miss-it guitar solos, derailed prog keyboards and deadpan vocals, this an intriguing, irreverent and funny as Hell album.

Dethroned Hog is a treasure trove of whimsical weirdness, a candy store filled with bite-sized tidbits. Churn Milk Joan are determined to have fun when they sit down and press "rec". Smile, enjoy or get the fuck out.

Dethroned Hog is a self-released album. Buy it (pay-what-you-want) from their website.

  1. The Wheelbarrow of Zanzibar
  2. Shadrach, Meshach, A Bendy Bus
  3. Avon Lady
  4. I've just injected an unknown substance into my eye
  5. Ewe Lifts Mutton
  6. Sylvia Plath on a Bike
  7. The Limb of Creation
  8. No bacon in the dreamtime house
  9. Jesus in Tight Pants
  10. God made the drugs
  11. Raven's longboat
  12. We travel Inter-City like the men do
  13. Leaving Dunkirk
  14. Marooned on Rigor Mortis
  15. A chat window with myself
  16. 96 friends live in the sky with Jesus
  17. Razor Blade / Hit Parade

» Churn Milk Joan on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment