October 27, 2014

Angela James: Way Down Deep

Alt-country Angela James likes to throw in a bit of jazz into her old school songs. Her new album Way Down Deep goes beyond the boundaries of Americana. With a small core band - husband Jordan Martins. on guitar and bass and Charles Rumback on drums - plus a variety of guest players James goes for a subdued approach that has more bite than many far louder albums.

She likes to take risks and included three one take wonders recorded live at Comfort Station in her hometown Chicago, including the a cappella title track. With her crystal clear vocals and A+ mix courtesy of Nick Broste Way Down Deep will be appreciated by Patsy Cline fans who can handle a bit of oomph and avant-garde.

Angela James: vocals, electric and acoustic guitar
Jordan Martins: electric and acoustic guitar, electric bass
Charles Rumback: drums

Way Down Deep is a self-released album. Buy it from her website.

  1. Halo
  2. Drink and Try Not to Cry
  3. Salt Town
  4. Lost and Found
  5. I Should've Known*
  6. Way Down Deep*
  7. All I Need
  8. Can't Go Home
  9. Dirty Moon*
  10. Lightning Strikes

* Recorded live in Comfort Station

Live date:
  • 11/01 Constellation, Chicago, IL

» Angela James on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment