September 25, 2014

Harmonics: Nostalgia Isn't What It Used to Be

Danish alternative rockers Harmonics brush shoulders with power pop on their new full-length Nostalgia Isn't What It Used to Be. Painting with broad strokes the Copenhagen based quartet heap layer upon layer, while retaining the clarity of the vocals. They have a soft spot for call-and-response (The Long Run) and zooming bass lines (The Recordkeeper). The slow build-up of No Time for Life is the highlight of the album and outshines the lead single Pledge in which the guitars and vocals never really gel.

For now they still lack the finesse of bands like Crowded House, but give them a few more years and they may be big in the melodic pop niche. For now it's a step when compared to their 2012 Return Different EP.

Søren Manscher: lead vocal, guitar
Frederik Langkjær: guitar, backing vocals
Søren Damsbo-Svendsen: bass, backing vocals
Frederik Håkonssen: drums

Nostalgia Isn't What It Used to Be is a self-released album.. CD and vinyl through their website. Digital: iTunes. Full stream on GFRock.

  1. Pledge
  2. Sally Girl
  3. The Long Run
  4. Crater on the Moon
  5. The Recordkeeper
  6. Parade
  7. Reflections of a Man
  8. It's Fixed
  9. No Time for Life
  10. Not Yet Old

Live dates:
  • 09/25 Stengade, Copenhagen
  • 10/01 Den Rytmiske Højskole, Vig
  • 10/15 HeadQuarters, Aarhus
  • 10/17 Huset, Esbjerg
  • 10/18 Det Bruunske Pakhus, Fredericia


No comments:

Post a Comment