July 22, 2014

Captain Baby: Sugar Ox

NYC post-psycedelic pop band Captain Baby is the musical outlet for street artist Asher Rogers who has transferred his colourful painter's palette to the recording studio, using elements from traditional Indian music, West Coast Pop and Nineties college rock. The new full-length Sugar Ox is a multi-faceted album, capturing sweet dreams and nightmares (Row On), religion (Worshipping You) and death (Climb Your Tree).

With percussive guitar lines of the XTC variety, dance inspired bass lines, a nervous back beat and treated vocals Sugar Ox is an album for smart pop aficionados who can handle quirkiness and off-the-cuff lyrics. Only a street artist could come up with Olive In the Ocean, a song about the colours of the Benjamin Moore Paint Company. And who'd have thought that Proper Gentlemen can act like elephants?

Sugar Ox is released on Sunset Alliance Records.

  1. I Say You
  2. Bury Your Head
  3. Be Ashamed
  4. Olive In the Ocean
  5. To Vanish
  6. Worshipping You
  7. Climb Your Tree
  8. Forest Charm
  9. Proper Gentlemen
  10. Row On
  11. Far Away
  12. Imperial Movement
  13. Bad Doctor (digital only bonus track)

Live date:
  • 07/25 Shoestring Press, New York, NY (CD release party)

» captainbaby.bandcamp.com

No comments:

Post a Comment