January 14, 2014

The World Of Dust: Bhava

Producer Stefan Breuer has been a vital part of the sound of groundbreaking Dutch indie bands such as I am Oak and Lost Bear. The spotlight was always on someone else and with his solo project The World Of Dust he shuns public appearances altogether. His album Bhava was premiered at a listening session at the Tivoli in Utrecht. Fourteen people donned headphones and were exposed to 40 minutes of music that they had never heard before.

It's a lo-fi prog rock trip to India, Egypt and even into space. It's not New Age, a genre that is bound to get bogged down in egotism. His songs are dreamy and succinct. Six years in the making, he made sure that every note counts. He could call in a few favor to create the sounds he was striving for - I Am Oak’s Thijs Kuijken handles the vocals on Shapes, but the concept is his and his alone. Breuer serves up his short songs in a carefully planned running order before going all out with the 14 minutes epic The Universe. The album comes with a book with his collages, illustrating the storyline.

The World Of Dust: Bhava

Bhava is released through Snowstar Records. Full stream on De Luisterpaal. The CD + book is limited to 100 hand-numbered copies. There won't be a digital release.

  1. Bunny
  2. Shapes
  3. Decay
  4. Delay
  5. Womb
  6. Galaxies
  7. Homunculus
  8. Huru
  9. Cumulus
  10. Pharaoh
  11. Sun
  12. Saha
  13. The Universe

» theworldofdust.nl

No comments:

Post a Comment