October 27, 2013

Setting Sun: Be Here When You Get There

Setting Sun
photo: Brian Geltner

New York based Gary Levitt has assembled another collection of songs for his left-field indie folk outlet Setting Sun. Be Here When You Get There touches base with Akron/Family and Elf Power. Idiosyncratic with a hint of psychedelica, this is the kind of album that Syd Barrett could have made, if he had steered clear of the bad acid.

As per usual the cello reigns supreme in most of the tracks, closely followed by acoustic guitar and the occasional beeps and clicks, with tasteful female backing vocalists as a bonus. Levitt never raises his voice - relying on his lyrics and sense for melody there is simply no need for that.

Setting Sun: Be Here When You Get There

Be Here When You Get There is released on Young Love Records. Release date: November 4th.

  1. Got it Made
  2. Down
  3. Hard to Say
  4. Week Long Nights
  5. Selfish Love
  6. Leave a Light on
  7. Seasons
  8. Dream Next Door
  9. Idiot
  10. Singularity

Live date:
  • 10/29 Pete's Candy Store Brooklyn, NY

» Setting Sun on Facebook

HCTF review of Fantasurreal.

No comments:

Post a Comment