October 18, 2013

Lukas Batteau: Wasteland

Lukas Batteau is a craftsman, who pays attention to each detail of his songs. After releasing two EP's his first full-length Wasteland explores heartbreak, loss and death. So this is heavy-handed album? Not as such. Some songs are actullay pretty upbeat, which makes a interesting contrast with the serious lyrics - just check out the banjo in Dance For The Dead (the album has a bonus track with an even more prominent role for that underrated instrument).

Batteau is half Dutch and half American and the listener gets the best of both worlds. the European styled melody of The Storm truly shines by adding The Red Limo String Quartet, who keep on playing throughout the Reprise that serves as a coda. On the other hand he tips his hat at Nineties USA alternative college rock (Cannonball).

Lukas Batteau: Wasteland

Wasteland is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Enchanted
  2. Wateland
  3. Cannonball
  4. Line Of Fire
  5. Dance For The Dead
  6. Prelude (The Still)
  7. The Storm
  8. Reprise (The Wake)
  9. Goodbye
  10. Island Of Sorrow
  11. Dance For The Dead (more banjo edit)

Live date:
  • 10/25 Ekko, Utrecht, The Netherlands (CD release show)

» lukasbatteau.com

HCTF review of Lukas Batteau.

No comments:

Post a Comment