October 18, 2013

Alberteen: Dead Language EP

A great song survives even a lousy remix. But when the remix is actually quite good, it might get a new lease of life. The Dead Language EP by UK rock trio Alberteen has a bit of both. The original from their exquisite debut album Metal Book, two different remixes by electro artist Andrew Poppy, and a live version recorded during a session for BBC6.

The instrumental The Dead Language of Instruments is the stand-out cut on this EP, reinventing the song as a dreamy soundtrack. Runner-up in the live version, a bare bones approach that could easily have been mistaken for an early demo if the vocals hadn't been that confident. As for the other remix - the ice dry and dull rhythm gets in the way of the vocals and guitar.

Ade Berry: bass, keyboards
John Rose: guitar, vocals
Phil Shaw: vocals

The Dead Language EP will be released 18 on November 2013 on Rhythm & Noir.

» alberteen.com

HCTF review of Metal Book.

No comments:

Post a Comment