May 15, 2013

Scott Tournet: Ver La Luz

Guitarist Scott Tournet is best known as a prominent member of Grace Potter & The Nocturnals. When the mood strikes him, he goes out on his own, His latest solo album Ver La Luz is a collection of subdued songs. Playing all instruments except the drum courtesy of Austin Beede and and backing vocals by Lowell Thompson and Kelly Ravin. He recorded the album in his studio in San Diego, overdubbing the basic tracks he recorded with Beede, with Mike Kamoo acting as engineer.

Most lead guitarist use solo albums as an outlet for shredding and geeking out, but not Tournet. His vocals take center stage, with his slide guitar riding shotgun. Taking cues from Seventies luminaries such as Stealers Wheel and modern day successors such as Tom Petty and Wilco Ver La Luz is a serious album about relationships, with all the highs and lows that come with it. Song titles like Demons and Ex-Lover have written spoiler alert all over it, but Tournet has found new ways or describing old grief.. Go for Stand by You and Song For You and find a self-assured musician doing his own thing. Treasure and The Longing, the songs that were co-written with Grace Potter, are the weak spots. Her vocals on The Longing may give the album some leverage for getting the press to take notice.

Scott Tournet: Ver La Luz

Ver La Luz is a self-released album. Buy it from his website. The Longing can be downloaded for free.

  1. Lights Go Down
  2. Not Too Late
  3. Song For You
  4. Treasure
  5. Ex-Lover
  6. The Longing
  7. Demons
  8. Stand by You
  9. Here In The Morning
  10. Here All Night
  11. Crawl Back
Live dates:
  • 05/16 Higher Ground, Burlington, VT
  • 05/17 Brighton Music Hall, Boston, MA
  • 05/18 Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn, NY
  • 05/19 8x10 Club, Baltimore, MD


No comments:

Post a Comment