January 02, 2013

Emporium: The Afterlife

After releasing From Another Planet - The Best Of Emporium (1998-2011), a collection peppered with rarities, Scottish band Emporium are back with a new album. The Afterlife was put together by the band's lead singer Ewan McKenzie who recorded the songs between 2010 and 2012. Lush melodies wading in psychedelica topped off with Eighties synthesizer sounds.

This is a band that isn't "happening", hip or otherwise. Longevity is the keyword here, a band carving a niche outside the mainstream with layered songs about going nuts in a gentle way (Mindbender) and being afraid to go to sleep (Magical Things). The Afterlife might not be a skyscraper, but it is built to last. Emporium is waving the flag of smart pop.

Emporium: The Afterlife

The Afterlife) is released on Whimsical Records. Buy it from Amazon and iTunes.

  1. The Afterlife
  2. Bluebell Wood
  3. Distance
  4. Mindbender
  5. Magical Things
  6. Static
  7. Beautiful Insanity (Don't Fit In)
  8. The Umbrella Shop
  9. Cosmic Voyage
  10. Return Of The Lost Tribe
  11. Cascade Down
  12. Killed Her
  13. Funeral
  14. Ending

» Emporium on Facebook

HCTF review of From Another Planet - The Best Of Emporium (1998-2011).

No comments:

Post a Comment