September 09, 2012

The Shams Band: Cold City

Chicago quintet The Shams Band is all about swagger and strut. With a mix of the Stones, the New York Dolls, the Clash and Muddy Waters their music can be pigeon-holed as country blues with a punk attitude. Singing about booze, women (special guest star: a very insecure Virgin Mary).

Fans of early Seventies rock will nod approvingly when they listen to their new album Cold City - the twin guitar players playing catch, and a banjo player bringing it home. Iit would only be fair when songs like Travel By Sea or Trunk Whiskey would be picked by the Dropkick Murphys or the Dubliners.

The Shams Band are the kind of band you hope to run into when entering a bar whose owner isn't afraid to host loud live music.

The Shams Band:
Donnie Biggins: guitar, vocals
Paul Gulyas: guitar, vocals
Doug Hill: drums
Brian Patterson: bass, vocals
Ben "Dirtus" White: banjo, percussion, vocals

The Shams Band: Cold City

Cold City is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. Cold City
  2. Love You The Most
  3. Breadwinner
  4. Cause You Can
  5. You Will Never Know
  6. Travel By Sea
  7. Trunk Whiskey
  8. Virgin Mary
  9. The Des Plaines River
  10. Thank You Cab
  11. Wake Up
  12. I'm Not Sorry

Live date:
  • 09/28 The Congregations Record Release at Martyr's, Chicago, IL


No comments:

Post a Comment