September 13, 2012

Drunksouls: Revolution

French indie reggae rock band Drunksouls are not afraid to take a stand. They wave their freak flag high on their second album Revolution, 16 songs with a message you can dance too. Hailing form Marseille, a city whose citizens have a tradition of doing ways their own way. It's a melting pot, so it's no wonder that the band touches base with reggae, funk, rap, calypso and rock. They are concerned about the state of the planet in songs like Africa, The End and Uniform, but they are fully aware of the fact that you can't be worried 24/7.

So it's not all politics - in fact there is quite a lot of sex too in songs like L'amour Dietetique and the pretty obvious Lust. Being just lazy is celebrated in the album's opening track Drifter Song. Drunksouls is a band that take musical risks, creating a groove form chaos - no wonder that two songs from the album were used for the documentary "I Believe I Can Fly" about the Skyliners.

Lead singer Djamil Ramdane is blessed with a pitch perfect in the higher registers, a nice counterpoint for the zooming bass lines laid down by Adrien Coulom and the jumping keyboards by Jean Marc Layani. Recommended if you like Mano Negra an Les Negresses Vertes.

Djamil Ramdane: vocals
Julien Mur: guitar
Pierre Pesin: trumpet
Jean Marc Layani: keyboards
Adrien Coulomb: bass
Julien Heurtel: drums
Romain Morello: trombone

Drunksouls: Revolution

Revolution is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Full stream on Soundcloud.

  1. Drifter Song
  2. Human Race
  3. J'ai Fait Un Reve
  4. Lust
  5. Africa
  6. L'amour Dietetique
  7. Sullivan Story
  8. Happy Death Day
  9. Supermarket
  10. Separation
  11. Always
  12. Studium W Bieli
  13. The Fall
  14. Revolution
  15. The End
  16. Uniform


No comments:

Post a Comment