June 13, 2012

Frank Zappa: 60 albums re-release starting 07/31

Wowee zowee, 60 Frank Zappa albums will be re-released in conjunction with Universal Music Enterprises. It has been a long and rocky road, making a few lawyers very rich in the process:

Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is now back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust.

To celebrate this, the estate has signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer’s recordings. The roll-out kicks off July 31 with 12 recordings, with another dozen recordings to be released monthly through the end of 2012.

The UME deal is for the entire Zappa Catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records.

The first batch:
  • Freak Out! (1966)
  • Absolutely Free (1967)
  • Lumpy Gravy (1968)
  • We're Only In It For The Money (1968)
  • Cruising With Ruben & The Jets (1968)
  • Uncle Meat (1969)
  • Hot Rats (1969)
  • Burnt Weeny Sandwich (1970)
  • Weasels Ripped My Flesh (1970)
  • Chunga's Revenge (1970)
  • Fillmore East, June 1971 (1971)
  • Just Another Band From L.A. (1972)

» zappa.com

No comments:

Post a Comment