April 14, 2012

The Luck of Eden Hall: Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 2

Chicago neo-psychedelic trio The Luck of Eden Hall have pulled it off. They have finished their ambitious 2CD project Butterfly Revolutions. On the first disc early Pink Floyd and The Zombies reigned supreme. They have added The Beatles, The Move and Jethro Tull as their major sources of inspiration.

Vol. 2 hits a bit harder than its predecessor. Complicated Mind, Flowers and the surf guitar of Revolution Loop can be pigeonholed as garage pop, but as whole they have retained the pastoral sound, most notably in Revolutions and the sad piano ballad Henrietta Lacks A Smile. The Luck of Eden Hall are not cool enough for the hipster crowd, but indie lovers who can handle a bit of well-executed nostalgia will cherish their perseverance.

The Luck of Eden Hall:
Gregory Curvey: guitars, vocals, piano
Mark Lofgren: bass, vocals
Carlos Mendoza: drums

The Luck of Eden Hall: Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 2

Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 2 is released on Myopic records. Buy it from CD Baby.

  1. Metropolis
  2. Complicated Mind
  3. Caroline
  4. North Hampton Woods
  5. The Ottoman Girl
  6. Henrietta Lacks A Smile
  7. Flowers
  8. Whither Fare Thou Be
  9. Revolutions
  10. Realization Loop
  11. We Are Not Self Control
  12. A Drop In The Ocean

Live date:
  • 04/21 Vintage Vinyl (in-store at noon), Chicago, IL

» theluckofedenhall.com

HCTF review of Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 1.

No comments:

Post a Comment