March 31, 2012

The ABC Club: White Lies

Leeds quintet The ABC Club earned some love from NME, a blessing in disguise for many promising bands. Their new EP White Lies sounds sad, sweet and dark, with falsetto vocals and guitar licks lifted from the Pulp and Blur songbooks.

Whitby is the stand-out track, an acoustic love song about this small seaside town in North Yorkshire. Title track White Lies sounds a lot like The Smiths, albeit with less pathos and a muffled drum sound.

The ABC Club: White Lies

White Lies is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: April 16th.

  1. White Lies
  2. Grandfather Clock
  3. Scattered Light
  4. Whitby

Live dates:
  • 04/01 Stereo, York
  • 04/03 The Macbeth, London
  • 04/04 Start The Bus, Bristol
  • 04/06 The Bowery, Sheffield
  • 04/07 The Independent, Sunderland
  • 04/09 Bumper, Liverpool


No comments:

Post a Comment