November 08, 2011

PYYRAMIDS: Human Beings

photo: Nathaniel Wood

Bass player Tim Nordwind (OK Go) and singer Drea Smith (He Say She Say, Lupe Fiasco ) are PYYRAMIDS, a left-field dance pop duo who have just released their debut EP Human Beings. After midnight vocals mashed with a sprinkling of electro and synthesizer parts that may remind you of OMD and New Order. It's dance music for people who don't go dancing (well, at least not much).

Initially recorded thousands of miles apart - Nordsind in LA doing the basic tracks, Smith in Chicago adding her vocals in GarageBand, the duo put in some face-to-face time in Los Angeles to add the finishing touches to the project. Dan Konopka (DMK) helped out doing a remix of the title track.

PYYRAMIDS: Human Beings

Human Beings is released via Paracadute (vinyl and digital). Buy it from the band's website. Stream of the full EP on Soundcloud.

  1. That Ain't Right
  2. Don't Go
  3. Perfect Picture
  4. Human Beings
  5. Animal #
  6. Human Beings (DMK Remix) #

# digital only

Live date:
  • 11/08 Roxy Theater, Los Angeles, CA (opening for Keep Shelly in Athens)


No comments:

Post a Comment