November 17, 2011

Kingsley Flood: Colder Still

When Boston folk rockers Kingsley Flood shared a live video for Mannequin Man in March and the I Don't Wanna Go Home single in May, all signs were pointing to a sophomore full-length release. So it comes a bit as a surprise that Colder Still is an EP.

The six songs sound a bit harsher and darker than their debut album Dust Windows. Main songwriter and front man Naseem Khuri takes a stern look at the American Dream and asks himself it if is all worth it. Do you really the House on the Hill and is there such a thing as Wonderland? With this slight chance of direction the band goes back to the roots of folk: asking questions that the general public might not particularly like. They kept the cheerful trumpet, four-part harmonies and high energy fiddle. Kingsley Flood is the missing link between The Pogues and The Decemberists.

Kingsley Flood:
Nick Balkin: bass, vocals
Steven Lord: drums, percussion
George Hall: guitars, vocals
Naseem Khuri: vocals, rhythm guitar, keys
Jenee Morgan: fiddle, mandolin, percussion, vocals
Chris Barrett: trumpet, xylophone, melodica, triangle, kazoo

Kingsley Flood: Colder Still

Colder Still is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: January 10, 2012. The band plars three shows (12/08-12/10) in Cambridge to celebrate the new CD.

  1. I Don't Wanna Go Home
  2. Wonderland
  3. Black Boots
  4. Quiet, Quiet Ground
  5. Mannequin Man
  6. House on the Hill

Video: Kingsley Flood - I Don't Wanna Go Home

Live dates:
  • 12/08 Cambridge, MA @ Lizard Lounge
  • 12/09 Cambridge, MA @ Lizard Lounge
  • 12/10 Cambridge, MA @ Lizard Lounge
  • 12/16 Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
  • 12/17 Providence, RI @ Spot Underground
  • 12/31 Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
  • 01/14 Arlington, VA @ Iota
  • 01/20 New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall
  • 01/21 Gloucester, MA @ the Rhumb Line


HCTF review of Dust Windows.

No comments:

Post a Comment