March 29, 2011

Back City Woods: Dirt From Which We Came

Back City Woods
photo: Dylan York

Back City Woods is an Americana/alt-country band from Macon, GA. Starting out as an acoustic duo who never left the studio, the band has grown into a five-headed monster with a barn storming attitude. They want their audience to cut loose and lock into the groove. Classic Southern rock licks and vocal harmonies mixed with uptempo bluegrass banjo, grounded with a bass line and an in-your-face drum beat that will get your feet moving.

Their debut EP Dirt From Which We Came may sound a bit rushed at times, but the sheer fun and enjoyment of the players comes tumbling out of the speakers. Good time music that means business.

Back City Woods:
Daniel NeSmith: vocals, electric and acoustic guitar, banjo
Michael Collins: vocals, electric and upright bass, organ, percussion, harmonica
Cal Mathis: acoustic and electric guitar, banjo
Nathan Garrett: vocals and acoustic guitar
James Lengel: drums and percussion

Back City Woods: Dirt From Which We Came

Dirt From Which We Came is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: April 15th.

  1. My Way in Life
  2. Dirt From Which We Came
  3. Thinking
  4. Promises
  5. Long Time Coming
  6. Nothing For Me Here
  7. August 1993
Live dates:
  • 04/15 Macon, GA @ The Hummingbird Stage and Taproom (CD release party)
  • 04/20-24 Alto, Georgia @ Do Da Jam Festival
  • 04/23 Jackson, GA @ Dauset Trails Bluebirds and Bluegrass Festival
  • 04/30 North Charleston, SC North Charleston Arts Festival
  • 05/02 Macon, GA @ Georgia State Fair
  • 05/13 Charleston, SC The Mill
  • 05/20 Macon, GA @ The Hummingbird Stage and Taproom
  • 06/03 Macon, GA @ The Rookery
  • 06/10 Atlanta, GA @ Meehan’s Public House
  • 07/30 Macon, GA @ Mellow Mushroom – Macon
  • 08/14 Macon, GA @ Second Sunday at Washington Park
  • 09/17 Eastman, GA @ Magnolia Music and Medicine Show


No comments:

Post a Comment