May 18, 2010

Welcome To Ashley: Beyond the Pale

Welcome To Ashley
photo: Zoran Orlic

In 2009 Chicago band Welcome To Ashley released a nice set of songs on their Absent Man EP. With their mix of PIL and The Smiths they sounded very alt.rock, the kind of music that is in heavy rotation on college radio. The follow-up Beyond the Pale is a bit darker lyrically and they have added The Replacements, Nick Cave and Jon Spencer to the mix. Opener What a Day It Was For Dying sets the tone for a little over half an hour heavy-handed rock with a likeable back beat, especially in These Dreams of Mine and the The Catbird Seat, a swaggering walking and talking song about Chicago.

Welcome To Ashley are building an extensive discography, gradually evolving into a band that will be appreciated by other recording artists while the world at large is still ignoring them.

Welcome To Ashley:
Coley Kennedy: vocals
Pete Javier: guitar
Jeremy Barrett: bass
Sherrlia Bailey: drums

Welcome To Ashley: Beyond the Pale

Beyond the Pale is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. What a Day It Was For Dying
  2. Destination
  3. These Dreams of Mine
  4. The Catbird Seat
  5. Gotta Get Back to You
  6. I Love Monday Mornings
  7. Light of Love
  8. Thursday Afternoon
  9. End of the Line

Live dates:
  • 05/28 Darkroom - KEXP and Equalizer Presents!, Chicago, IL
  • 08/19 Terminal Bar, Minneapolis, MN
  • 08/20 Eclipse Records, St. Paul, MN
  • 09/02 Record Bar, Kansas City, MO


No comments:

Post a Comment