January 08, 2010

Kathryn Williams: The Quickening

Kathryn Williams
photo: Tom Sheehan

Folk singer Kathryn Williams has been up and down. She has been an independent that got caught in a media blitz, got signed to a major label, suffered form stage fright, but through it all she kept releasing high quality albums. Her new one is called The Quickening, recorded in four days at Bryn Derwen studio in North Wales. Most of it is live, with her trustee cohort David Scott playing guitar. He shares songwrting credits on two of the tracks.

The Quickening is an album that wraps itself around the listener like favorite sweater. With upright bass, piano and vibraphone adding colour to Williams' careful delivery, the intimate songs can breathe easily. Williams is still looking for answers, in songs like There Are Keys and Noble Guesses. There is no need for answers as long as the songs keep coming.

The Quickening is released on One Little Indian Records. Release date: February 22nd.

  1. 50 White Lines
  2. Just A Feeling
  3. Winter Is Sharp
  4. Wanting And Waiting
  5. Black Oil
  6. Just Leave
  7. Smoke
  8. Cream Of The Crop
  9. There Are Keys
  10. Noble Guesses
  11. Little Lesson
  12. Up North
Live dates:

» kathrynwilliams.net
» myspace.com/kathrynwilliams

No comments:

Post a Comment