December 16, 2009

Matt Morris: When Everything Breaks Open

Matt Morris
photo: Drew Jarrett

Singer-songwriter Matt Morris from Boulder, CO, built up a nice pile of street cred when he released Backstage at Bonnaroo, a five track live EP, in 2008. Guitarist Charlie Sexton is on hand again to sharing producer's credits with Justin Timberlake for the full length When Everything Breaks Open. Timberlake? Yep, all the lo-fi stuff has been thrown out the window and is replaced with glossy fills, busy percussion, and manic twiddling within Pro-Tools.

Morris has barely survived all this, his voice getting buried in the mix in the fist tracks, but after that the album opens up. All songs of the live EP get a second outing, and the material is strong enough to withstand the pressures of a big studio. Can somebody put up a huge "Less Is More" sign before he enters the studio again?

Matt Morris: When Everything Breaks Open

When Everything Breaks Open is released on Tenman Records. Release date: January 2010.

  1. Don't You Dare
  2. Money
  3. Love
  4. Bloodline
  5. Live Forever
  6. The Un-American
  7. Let It Go
  8. You Do It For Me
  9. Just Before The Morning
  10. In This House
  11. Forgiveness
  12. Someone To Love You
  13. Eternity
Live date:
  • 12/17 Fox Theatre, Boulder, CO
    (supporting the Flobots)


No comments:

Post a Comment