December 18, 2009

Chad Price: Smile Sweet Face

Sometimes all you need to make a record is your voice and your guitar. That's what singer-songwriter Chad Price, vocalist of band Drag The River uses on his album Smile Sweet Face, with Rick Stef adding pinches of accordion to three of the tracks.

The Ault, Colorado based composer is an admirer of Townes Van Zandt (lyrics) and Sam Cooke (phrasing), and it shows in the ten sad songs that make up this album. With a running time of a mere 39 minutes a high grade vinyl version should be seriously considered.

Chad Price: Smile Sweet Face

Smile Sweet Face is released on Suburban Home Records.

  1. This Cross
  2. Cursed
  3. With Broken Hearts
  4. With Bleeding Wrists
  5. Peachy Tuscadero
  6. Your Voice Is Music
  7. Your Paralyzing Wings
  8. Static
  9. This War
  10. Going Away


No comments:

Post a Comment